Little Rock Contractor License Defense Lawyer
The Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board regulates the issuance of licenses and contractors bond law for commercial contractors in Arkansas. Its Residential Contractors Committee division regulates the issuance of residential contractors licensing. Both the Board and Committee establish the minimum standards necessary for licensed contractors in the areas of construction, business, and finance.
As a construction professional, your license represents your livelihood and reputation. Make certain that you protect all you have worked so hard to build by observing licensing laws, and consulting a Little Rock Contractor license defense attorney if you are facing any allegations against your license.
All construction work, other than single-family residences, is considered commercial construction. Contractors, including those acting as a construction manager, are required to have a commercial license when performing work or providing labor or materials on projects that cost $50,000 or more. Projects cannot be divided into separate parts or contracts to avoid licensing requirements. A license is also required when bidding on projects or a license must be issued before work begins on a project. Separate requirements apply to those under the light building classification.
Residential construction is the building of single-family residences, including duplex, triplex, or quadplex residences, and the property and improvements connected to that work. A single-family residence is one that consists of no more than four units. Anything above four units is considered multifamily housing. A residential builders license is required when a person bids or enters a contract to construct a single-family residence, acts in a supervisory capacity, and when the cost of the work (including labor and materials) is $50,000 or more. If the project does not exceed $2,000, a residential building contractor or a home improvement contractor is exempt from licensing requirements. All rules and regulations can be found at Arkansas.gov.
When Should You Contact a Little Rock Contractor License Defense Attorney?
The health, safety, and welfare of the public are of the utmost importance. If a claim or allegation is made against your contractors license, it is imperative that you act immediately by contacting a Little Rock contractor license defense attorney to avoid penalties, which may include fines, lawsuits, or an injunction against your license. Cotney Construction Law has an in-depth understanding of Arkansas licensing laws and represents construction professionals before the Arkansas Contractor Licensing Board against a range of alleged licensing violations.
If you are in need of a professional construction law firm, please contact us for more information.
Disclaimer: The information contained in this article is for general educational information only. This information does not constitute legal advice, is not intended to constitute legal advice, nor should it be relied upon as legal advice for your specific factual pattern or situation.